top of page
Search
  • Gracie

Why I'm Making a Blog

Updated: Nov 26, 2018

Hi all, you have probably read a little bit about me above but I thought I would share a bit more about me and why I'm making a blog here.


I have always had amazing family and friends, and I had never been insecure about my hearing aids. This changed as I started college, unsure of the people I would meet and if they would presume I am the stereotype that society has created for Deaf and hard of hearing people. I may have been wrong to think that on some levels, as I made some amazing friends for life, but I was right to think so with some teachers there - who would have thought, students more understanding and considerate than some teachers, grown adults!


I met other hearing aid wearers, in my summer after my first year of college, one of whom I kept in touch with, and it gave me someone to relate to. It made me realise that things even friends and family couldn't understand, as they didn't have the hearing loss. But it also made me realise, not everyone is as open and confident about sharing their hearing loss - just like I had felt when starting college.

I was given the opportunity to work with an amazing young lady through a peer mentoring project, and from the first time I met her, I knew that I wanted to work with amazing children like her, to boost confidence and break down barriers that exist in all part of society. Whether that be in the education system, the work place or somewhere else. I thought this blog would be a good way to start. I want to share my stories and experience I have had, and will have - whether they be good or bad - to make sure that just maybe some people will think about the consequences of what they say and do will impact that person. I am grateful for having the experiences I have had, including the bad, as had I not, I don't think I would be as passionate as I am about it.


I would not be doing this without inspiration from a fellow blogger who is already helping to break down barriers, and from a wonderful lady who has always supported giving a voice to those who may not be able to have one. I find it unfair that people with any kind of invisible disability are overlooked, and not taken seriously, and I want to be part of changing that.


The name of my blog is based on something I heard once and it has always stuck with me. Every one always focuses on the hearing loss, the thing we don't have, but no one ever talks about what you gain- the ability to see things from a different perspective that a hearing person cannot understand. As I have moderate to severe hearing loss, I wear my hearing aids and can hear pretty well with them in, I feel as I'm too "hearing" for the Deaf community and too "deaf" for the hearing community, so it's hard to know where you really belong. Although I enjoy being part of both, I hope breaking down the barriers, and speaking out, will help join the two so there doesn't have to be two separate communities. For example, making sign language part of the school curriculum would enable everyone to communicate as they wish with whomever they wish.


I understand not everyone will share the same views as me, but I just hope to give one person someone they can to relate to, or feels someone else understand them. I would love to hear anyone else's stories they may have that they would like to share too!


That's all for now, but I'll be back with my first story soon! Thank you for everyone's support for starting this blog, you're all amazing for encouraging me to go for it!


Gracie x



187 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Another Point of View

Last night, I wrote a new blog post and handed it to my Mum to read part way through, and then once I'd finished I handed it to my Dad to see if he could help cut it down - I have a tendency to babble

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page