top of page
Search
  • Gracie

UK Deaf Awareness Group

Hello everyone! Hope everyone is doing okay!


Today I want to share with you guys a little project I’ve had the privilege of helping out on and helping set up over the last week or two. We’re still in early stage, but I’m so excited to share it with you guys!

As I’ve talked about in some of my earlier posts (and the whole reason I set up my blog), I’ve found it quite isolating at times when I’ve not really know anyone who wears hearing aids, only in the last few years have I met people and found they understand how I feel, that I’m not alone! People can sympathise, but not a lot can empathise – people can’t always understand what it can feel like until you’ve have been there yourself. When I’ve been told to just “listen harder”, or “it was only a joke, you’re over reacting”, it can feel lonely not having anyone understand the struggle, and in a time like this with people wearing masks, that feeling has been amplified!


So, I am helping to start up and build something we’ve named UK Deaf Community Group. We are working with SDCS to build a community for those with any type of hearing loss – whether you sign, or speak; have profound hearing loss or mild; for anyone anywhere in between, we want to bring everyone together, whatever age, wherever you’re from! We have spoke about how when you leave child services it can be scary as a lot of support goes away very quickly, you’re an adult but still trying to adjust, so we want to reach you guys too, to tell you you’re not alone!

Anyone who wants to, please get in contact, we would love to hear from you! Sorry the post is a little long guys, but I am so excited to share this with you all! I can’t wait for you to see what we’re working on very soon! Keep smiling!


ukdeafcommunity@gmail.com

73 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Another Point of View

Last night, I wrote a new blog post and handed it to my Mum to read part way through, and then once I'd finished I handed it to my Dad to see if he could help cut it down - I have a tendency to babble

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page