top of page
Search
  • Gracie

Sign Language

It’s been a while, but I’m back!


Recently I’ve started a sign language class. I refused to as kid to learn it, I thought I didn’t have to because I wasn’t profoundly deaf; but I was so wrong!!!!!


Within ten minutes I had fallen in love. Not having to concentrate so hard to listen, not having to lip read everyone’s lips, not having to try hear over the background noise. It made me realise how exhausting listening can actually be. It may sound cliché, but it is so freeing, it makes me feel so focused and yet relaxed at the same time.


But it also made me appreciate the language even more. Our teacher is profoundly deaf, which means we have to sign, and use everything she teaches us, from the signs, to facial expressions and body language.


It makes me want to share everything I learn with everyone I come in contact with! So, I guess that’s what I’m doing here. Whether you are Deaf, hard of hearing, or hearing: I encourage you to learn sign language. It’s not just for Deaf people, it really is for anyone and everyone to use in so many situations!

132 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Another Point of View

Last night, I wrote a new blog post and handed it to my Mum to read part way through, and then once I'd finished I handed it to my Dad to see if he could help cut it down - I have a tendency to babble

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page