top of page
Search
  • Gracie

Celebration Times

With party season and celebrations well under way, I thought I’d just take a few moments to acknowledge how it can be a little trickier for people who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing.


Everywhere you go this time of year, there are just simply more people, larger crowds, and louder music. While this may create a jolly mood and wonderful atmosphere, I find it can be particularly exhausting. Here are some ways you can help someone!


· Get my attention and face me before talking to me – this way I am able to focus on lip reading you


· Put subtitles on the TV when there are lots of people round – it is one less thing to have to try listen to (or try block out)


· Reduce background noise – if no one is watching the TV, mute it or turn it off; try not to have too many conversations at once, not in a rude way, just let me focus on one person’s voice and then another


· Don’t label me as rude – sometimes I need time to recharge as lots of noise can be disorientating, and having to rely on lip reading can tiring, so if I’m on my phone or reading a book tucked away to the side, I’m not trying to be rude, just taking time out to recharge and then I will join back in when I can focus again


I think it’s easy to forget sometimes that the little things can take a lot, but it’s little adjustments that can make it just that little bit easier!


I hope you’ve all had a Merry Christmas, and I wish you a Happy New Year!

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Another Point of View

Last night, I wrote a new blog post and handed it to my Mum to read part way through, and then once I'd finished I handed it to my Dad to see if he could help cut it down - I have a tendency to babble

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page