top of page
Search
  • Gracie

A Positive Experience

When raising awareness, a lot of what people talk about are negative experiences, I do it myself. While it is so important to share those experiences, and raise awareness, I think it’s equally important to share positive experiences too; share how such simple things can mean so much to someone.

Yesterday, I had to go to an opticians in town. I had taken my Dad with me, as we’ve been doing this almost a year now, and I anticipated there would be a lot background noise making it difficult to hear with everyone masked. However, I do know someone in there, so when they greeted us, they knew I struggled to hear, so talked slow and clearly, and used they hands to gesture where possible to direct me.

After we had been seated, another young lady came over to help us, she started speaking, so as usual, I turned to my Dad so he could repeat, and he started to answer for me (after he’d repeated it to me), but stopped to explain to the young lady that I was partially deaf. No sooner had he said that, this amazing, wonderful young lady asked if it would be easier for me if she wore a visor instead of a mask, even used her hands to mime visor in front of her face. I said it would be great if it wasn’t too much trouble and she didn’t mind, she replied not at all and said she would go find one and be back in a moment.

Both my Dad and I were surprised and impressed. I felt such a relief, knowing instantly how much easier this was going to make my experience.

This lady returned, and I was able to continue on my own, my Dad was able to leave me to it while he was able to move out the way elsewhere. Something as simple as switching to a visor, meaning I was able to lip read, really made my whole experience so much easier, and gave me some independence - something that has been compromised so much over the last year.

Those who work with me know we have tried visors, and I hadn’t had a particularly great experience with them in my work environment, for various reasons: lighting reflections blocking views of the face, blocking off any extra vibrations I may be able to pick up, blocking off all sound completely when wearing one myself. But in this situation, sat down, not moving round, without a mask underneath, and the lady slowing down her speech, making sure she was facing me, the visor worked wonderfully.

I left feeling so happy, mainly that I was able to do something by myself without it being such a struggle and battle, or completely draining me from having to concentrate so hard. A truly wonderful experience.

This lovely young lady later called me to follow up from our discussion in store. She spoke slowly and clearly, once again, meaning I was able to take the call myself with ease.

Although it may not seem like much to some people, this was huge to me. Since the whole pandemic started, this was the first person I had had contact with, who didn’t know me, hadn’t read my blog, but who went that extra mile without a second thought to help accommodate me - to give me my independence and confidence back. It was a truly wonderful feeling.

However, I still felt that small feeling of embarrassment, and guilt for feeling like I’m too much trouble. But I asked myself, why? Why should I feel guilty and embarrassed when I have the complete right to have the same access and opportunity to independence as everyone else who is hearing? I shouldn’t view myself as a “problem”!

But like I said at the start, this post is about sharing a positive experience - I just also wanted to keep it real like I do! If by some miracle the kind, thoughtful, wonderful, accommodating young lady who this is about sees this - THANK YOU, I will never forget you! To the opticians this was at - well done on hiring and training your staff to be so inclusive, it doesn’t go unnoticed!

- I haven’t named the store or the employee to be safe, I wouldn’t want to cause any trouble or put anyone in possible danger -

76 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Another Point of View

Last night, I wrote a new blog post and handed it to my Mum to read part way through, and then once I'd finished I handed it to my Dad to see if he could help cut it down - I have a tendency to babble

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page