top of page
Search
  • Gracie

5 Things You Can Do This Christmas


5 things you can do this Christmas to support someone who is Deaf or Hard of Hearing.


In the middle of the busy rush that is this time of year, it can be easy to forget how Christmas itself can create extra boundaries for those with hearing loss, which can easily lead to them not being able to enjoy it as they feel isolated.


So I thought I’d create a little piece on five simple things people can do to help make Christmas more inclusive!!


1. Seating places – ask the person who is Deaf or Hard of Hearing where would be best for them to sit (whether that be in the living room or at the table) so they can see everyone and are able to lip read, which may make it just a little easier to follow conversation


2. Limit background noise – there is always so much going on at once during Christmas, especially when it comes to sounds. People talking, the tv turned on, pots/pans/dishes clattering, paper ripping, and anything else that may be going on. Try limit this, by muting the tv, shutting doors between rooms, get someone’s attention to have a conversation with them one at a time rather than them dotting between a few.


3. Don’t label needing breaks as being rude – personally, this is essential for me. There is a lot going on, so much my brain is having to process, more than normal, so I excuse myself from conversation or from everything for say 10/15 minutes, to read a book, go on my phone, wander around the house, just to have some quiet to recharge. Don’t label it as rude, just let them do what they need to do, and when they’re ready, they’ll join back in.


4. Be patient – majorly in retail. Masks have had a huge impact on those who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing, and I personally dread going shopping, but with it getting busier and lots of places playing Christmas music, it’s making it near impossible to understand what people are saying. So just be kind, patient, understanding. You never know who may be struggling to hear, and it may take them a little longer to work out and process what you’re saying, so please don’t rush them.


5. PLEASE DO NOT SAY “it doesn’t matter” – this is probably my biggest annoyance as someone with hearing loss. People saying this maybe just can’t be bothered to say something again, but to those who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing, you may as well just say “you’re not worth my time repeating what I just said”. So don’t roll your eyes and say “it doesn’t matter”, repeat it so everyone can be included and part of the conversation, no one should feel left out and isolated just because they didn’t hear the first time.


Those are just five very easy things you can do to help those who are Deaf and Hard of hearing this Christmas! Take care, stay safe, and MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Another Point of View

Last night, I wrote a new blog post and handed it to my Mum to read part way through, and then once I'd finished I handed it to my Dad to see if he could help cut it down - I have a tendency to babble

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page